I put Acid on my eyes….. Xanthelasma and the lengths we go to

A few years ago I noticed something on my eyelid.Β  I thought it was a little bit of dry skin so whacked some moisturiser on it and thought no more about it.Β Β  That little lump on one eye has turned into a big yellow lump on both eyes and I bloody hate it. For real.Β  Yes I love make up and all that jazz but I am not, nor ever been vain.Β  I will do the school run with bed head, bare face and pjs on etc. Β  But these damn things get me down and they seemed to be getting bigger and it was proving more difficult to disguise them.

Taking to google I found out that it is called Xanthelasma and it is fat deposits attributed to BAD cholesterol.Β  This bit is important.Β  So off I went to see my doctor who said ‘But Mousie your cholesterol is fine, go away and leave me to the sick people.’

Well F you too doc. So instead I went to Dr Google and discovered that yes it is cholesterol but not high but BAD. So no matter what I do, as I have bad cholesterol they may not go away – they didn’t.

Bad cholesterol:Β  LDL cholesterol is considered the β€œbad” cholesterol because it contributes to plaque, a thick, hard deposit that can clog arteries and make them less flexible. This condition is known as atherosclerosis. If a clot forms and blocks a narrowed artery, heart attack or stroke can result.Β Another condition called peripheral artery disease can develop when plaque buildup narrows an artery supplying blood to the legs.

Anyway, this post isn’t about that and I am dealing with trying to lower this ‘bad’ cholesterol and in the meantime also trying to do something about these damn things on my eyes.

So what are my medical options?

Surgery and lazer

The approx cost to have them removed (the NHS may pay for it but it will depend on your PCT)

Consultation – Doctor Β£85
Consultation – Dermatologist Β£160
1 small Xanthelasmas removal (up to 0.5 cm) Β£350
2 small Xanthelasmas removal Β£650

You can also have them lasered off but I don’t know how much this is and to be honest I don’t fancy it either.

My next course of action was to find out if there was anything I could be doing myself to get rid of them and yes there is!

There are a few methods, the most common is the garlic process.Β  Basically you put raw garlic on the lumps and over time the lump will crack and scab over and eventually the ‘Xans’ should be gone.Β  I read loads about this and it was very hit and miss but I give it a go and nothing happened other than sore eyes.

The next was garlic capsules and castor oil: I take the capsules everyday as these are supposed to help with my bad cholesterol and massaged castor oil into my eyelids every night.Β  The lumps did seem to flatten but not much else.Β  I was about to give up when I found a post about TCA.

TCA is the acid used in chemical peels and is used in some countries as a Xans treatment.Β  Again however this is very pricey and to be honest I am not sure if it is available in the UK.

Again about to give up I did some more googling and on the Channel 4 website there was a piece about Xans after it appeared on the show Embarrassing Bodies.Β  A commenter suggested using a Wartner Gel Pen as they had used it and it had removed the Xans.

I could not hit that google fast enough.Β  I found lots of posts about the wonders of the Wartner Gel Pen so off I went, straight to Boots, to purchase it (11 pounds).

Why does it work?Β  Because it contains 17% TCA.

I got home and I will admit my arse collapsed…..Mousie are you really going to put ACID on your eye???????Β  I hummed and ahhhed and thought I cannot do it.Β  I reread the instructions over and over and eventually thought ‘sod it I am doing it.’

I followed the instructions precisely and as the lady said that stuff hurts like a motherF%&^%r.Β  BUT……….my eye is reacting as predicted.Β  I don’t know if it will work as I am only on day 2 but in a week or so I will know.

Please remember I am not a doctor so DO NOT DO THIS because you read it here – this stuff is ACID – on your EYE. DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.

This is how I did it.Β  I put Vaseline all over my eyelid (I have only done one eye so far) except where the Xan is – this is to protect the healthy skin.

I put the tiniest amount of the gel on the end of a cotton bud and placed it on the xan – it hurts and goes frosty white immediately.Β  I left it that night but in the morning and every couple of hours since I have been putting wound healing cream on it.Β  So far it is swollen but not as bad as I was expecting.Β  Tomorrow is supposed to be the worst day and then it should form a scab.Β  I do not know if I have done it correctly but fingers crossed.

Here are a few pics to show how its been so far:

3 comments

    1. It’s gone really flat but is swollen and bruised as I expected, looks like it will scab over soon and then it’s crunch time – half of me thinks I am nuts and the other half thinks it’s worth it.

      I had my arteries blown last year and heart scans as I was having irregular heartbeats and all my tests came back fine so I am still trying to figure out why I have them and how to stop getting more

      Like

Leave a Reply

