I have proper fell out with BirchBox, thrown my dummy out and got my coat. I have not unsubscribed YET as I am waiting to see the Benefit lipstick in the March Box but let me tell you, they are currently drinking Mojitos in The Last Chance Saloon and they are not gonna be able to afford an Uber home.

Anyway. So here’s what I got in my January Box:

Lord and Berry concealer stick – I had expected to hate this as I don’t much care for pencils, but I really kinda like it. I only use it for cleaning up my brows and adding a bit of highlight, it is not harsh or scratchy but soft and creamy and I can happily say I was wrong about this product.

Rating: a massive 5/5.

Batiste XXL styling spray – I hate this stuff. Its a styling spray but still comes out white like the dry shampoo and makes me look more grey than I am, which is saying something. It left my hairΒ  feeling horrible; sticky and really clumpy. Hate it.

Rating: 0/5

Vasanti Brighten Up – When I first used this I thought it was lovely, I tried it straight away and thought it was magical. It isn’t. Like the Unani I received in my Glossybox it made my skin sore, dry and red. Also like the Unani it does not contain lanolin which usually effects me in this way, but the ingredient list has a lot of the same things so it is definitely one of these blighters that I can’t seem to get on with

Ingredients: aqua (Water), Aluminum Oxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Propanediol, Panthenol, Emulsifying Wax NF, Glyceryl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Papain, Parfum, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol

Rating: This one is not for me 1/5

Nuxe – I think this would be a nice item for the summer, with a tan. During a cold January and February I cannot see the point of it. I tried it in my hair as suggested and even though I used a tiny drop I looked like I had dipped my head in a chip pan.

Rating: 0/5 this might change in the summer so I may revisit this

Merci Handy – I tried my best to like this as I received the Merci Handy toothpaste in my January My Little Box and loved it. I don’t like it. It smells lovely and feels really nice on application. Two minutes later my hands are still sticky and I get residue coming off in little lumps.

Rating: 2/5

Box Rating: My annoyance with BirchBox has been compounded by the poor box I received in February, but putting that aside I liked one item, the pencil. The box itself was pretty and I do like the drawer design but other than that it is a 1/5 #epicfail.

