As some of you may know my lovely mum is in a nursing home and is ‘at end of life’. Mum got sick last April, up until then she had been a proud and independent 85 years old. After a spell in hospital mum didn’t get any better and the decision was made by family and those looking after her that she required 24 hour care and would need to go into a nursing home. I raged against this as I had always promised her that I would never allow that to happen. In retrospect it was the best choice as she gets 24 hour care I would not have been able to manage.

Mum was doing well up until the new year when she quickly deteriorated. It has been the hardest thing I have ever had to deal with; Mum thinks she is 36, she wants new shoes and bags and wants to go dancing. This would be great other than the fact that she didn’t adopt me until she was 40 so she has no clue who I am – it is heartbreaking.

As I sat with her last night, watching her sleeping and watching YouTube videos, I realised my obsession with all things pretty came from this great lady. I fondly remember all the times I got in so much trouble for stealing her Esteé Lauder lipsticks, her Clarins skincare and her Chanel…..I also realised where my passion for ‘high-end’ came from too.

I remember one time when we were going on holiday to Scotland; my dad had taken the decision that we would travel by train. Half way into the journey there was a horrific scream. The whole carriage looked around to see who was being murdered (!!!) I was mortified to see that the gut wrenching sound was coming from my own mum. My dad jumped up ‘momma bear mouse! What is it? Are you hurt?’ You can imagine my dad’s response when she informed him through the tears that she was not hurt but so much worse, she had forgotten to pack her make-up bag!!

On arrival at Glasgow Central my dad was ordered to take momma bear mouse to the nearest department store were she bought all new make-up and skincare – to this day I think she did it on purpose!

I decided it was only fitting that she got her own post on my little blog that celebrates all the pretties, as she is the prettiest of them all. I don’t want to do a memorial post when she has gone as I want to celebrate her now. I love her dearly and I am so lucky that she chose to adopt me and chose to be my lovely mum.

This is my momma bear:

