“Bah!” said Scrooge, “Humbug!”

The Yankee Candle (Christmas Eve) is burning, my bank account has took a thrashing, there are lists about lists about lists and my blood pressure is off the scale…….IT MUST BE CHRISTMAS

For the record I am a Christmas fanatic.  I LOVE IT.  I do nothing but complain about it but I absolutely adore it and I drive my family bonkers. We used to have 9 Christmas trees but I have got this down to five.  My conservatory is a winter wonderland with the window freezes to prove it.

So what better on these cold and frosty mornings…afternoons and evenings than a good old Christmas film or TV special – here is a list of my personal favourites.

In no particular order…….

TV specials

  • Charlie Brown Christmas
  • The Raccoons Christmas Special
  • Lark Rise to Candleford
  • Grantchester
  • Mrs Brown’s Boys
  • Call the Midwife
  • Poirot – Murder on the Orient Express (not Christmas but lots of snow)
  • Gavin and Stacy
  • Father Ted
  • Only fools and Horses – all of them
  • Rugrats Christmas
  • Michael BublĂ©
  • To the Manor Born

And then the Films….

  • A Muppet Christmas Carol
  • Scrooge
  • Scrooged
  • Scrooge (again – alastair Simm)
  • Little Women (1938)
  • By the light of the silvery moon
  • Meet me in St Louis
  • The Santa Clause
  • National Lampoons Christmas Vacation
  • The Slipper and the Rose
  • The Bishop’s Wife
  • It’s a wonderful life
  • The Shop around the corner
  • Arthur Christmas
  • Elf
  • The Wizard of Oz
  • Disney Very merry Christmas sing a long
  • Winnie the pooh and Christmas too
  • Beauty and the Beast – Belle’s enchanted Christmas
  • Love Actually
  • A mom for Christmas (Olivia Newton John)
  • The Christmas Gift (John Denver)

 

I have probably forgotten loads so will add as I remember them – but let me know if you have any recommendations

 

HO! HO! HO!

Leave a comment